Showing posts with label Troubleshooting. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Troubleshooting. Show all posts

How to Fix Temporary Profile in Windows 7

Sometimes Windows 7 OS may not read your correct user profile properly, instead, load with temporary profile which will look completely different.  If you are not aware of temp profile or missed to see the pop-up message at bottom right side of the screen, then really you will be surprised to see completely different and new desktop without your files,folders,shortcut icons and any customized settings.This guide shows how to fix temporary profile issue on Windows 7.
“You have been logged on with Temporary profile”- that’s the famous message from Windows 7
1. Login to computer with Administrator privilege account
2. From START button choose RUN or use (windows key + R)  combination
3. Type “regedit” in run box  and hit enter or click on OK, then Registry editor will open 
4. From Registry editor Under computer tab expand HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList 
5. Delete .bak files in profile list 
Example: “S-1-5-21-1213428093-345618312-2235-148770.bak”
6. Restart the computer and login with User's AD credentials  
To confirm 
From START menu choose cmd prompt and check whether users AD login name is showing there
for eg : C:\Users\sysnetnotes> instead of C:\Users\temp>

Read More...

Error opening installation log file. Verify that the specified location exists and is writable.

When you attempt to uninstall any product in “Programs and Features”, a new “Windows Installer” window appears and gives the following error:
“Error opening installation log file. Verify that the specified location exists and is writable.”

Resolution
  1. Hit CTRL-ALT-DEL to launch Task Manager or right-click Desktop Task Bar and choose Start Task Manager.
  1. Click Processes Tab.
  1. Locate and select the explorer.exe, click End Process.
  • You may need to select Show Processes from all users.
  • DD2479514_1.jpg
  1. Click End Process to the prompt.
  1. Your Desktop Icons and Desktop Bar will disappear.
  1. Hit CTRL-ALT-DEL to launch Task Manager again.
  1. Click File -> New Task (Run...).
  1. Type explorer.exe and click Ok.
  • Your Desktop Task bar and Icons should appear again.
  • DD2479514_2.jpg


After this you can uninstall the application as usual from control panel add or remove programs

Read More...

Error : Can not add a site to "Trusted sites zone" [Solved]

Internet Explorer assigns all websites to one of four security zones: Internet, Local intranet, Trusted sites, or Restricted sites. The zone to which a website is assigned specifies the security settings that are used for that site. You can choose which websites to assign to the Intranet, Trusted, or Restricted zones. By adding a website to a specific zone, you can control the level of security used on that site. For example, if you have a list of websites that you visit and you completely trust those sites, add those sites to the Trusted zone.

To add a site to Trusted Zone

-Open Internet Explorer 
-Navigate to the website that you want to add to a specific security zone.
-Click the Tools button, and then click Internet Options.
-Click the Security tab, and then click Trusted sites
-Click Sites.
-The website should be shown in the Add this website to the zone field. Click Add.
-If the site is not a secure site (HTTPS), clear the Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone check box.
-Click Close, and then click OK 

Sometimes you might come across an error : Can not add a site to "Trusted sites zone"

To solve this error try below method

-Open Internet Explorer.
-Click Tools, and then click Internet Options.
-Click the Advanced tab.
-Under Reset Internet Explorer Settings, click Reset.
Read More...

Error: LibraOffice requires a Java runtime environment (JRE) to perform this task [Solved]

LibreOffice is a free and open source office suite, developed by The Document Foundation.LibreOffice is  compatible with other major office suites, including Microsoft Office, through a variety of import/export filters. You can download it from http://www.libreoffice.org/

Sometimes you come across an error "LibraOffice requires a Java runtime environment (JRE) to perform this task.Please install a JRE and restart LibreOffice"  while trying to run Macros in LibraOffice Calc.Try below step to overcome this error.



Solution 
- Install latest JRE Windows Offline (32-bit) from http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
- Go to LibreOffice Calc - Menu - Tools - Options - LibreOffice - Advanced(or Java in older version) - Add - then add installed Java from Program Files(x86)  - Java - jre7 - Press OK 
- Go to LibreOffice Calc - Menu - Tools - Options - LibreOffice - Advanced(or Java in older version) - Add - then add installed Java from Program Files(x86)  - Java - jre7 - Press OK 

To check whether its working
Go to LibreOffice Calc - Menu - Tools - Macros - Run Macros (confirm above error is not showing)

To enable Record Macro option 
Version 3.5.x 
Menu Tools > Options > LibreOffice > General 
Enable experimental (unstable) features. 

Version 3.6.x 
Menu Tools > Options > LibreOffice > General 
Enable macro recording (limited) 

Version 4.0.x 
Menu Tools → Options → LibreOffice → Advanced 
Optional (unstable) options 
Enable macro recording 
This below method depending upon version of LibraOffice installed in your computer

Read More...

How To Turn Off Compatibility View In IE8 Browser

Disable Compatibility View for All Websites


Launch Internet Explorer 8.
  • Click on the "Tools" menu and select the "Compatibility View Settings"  option. This will open a window where you can customize the compatibility view  feature.
  • Remove the check in the check box next to "Display all websites using  Compatibility View" to turn off the feature.
Read More...

Top 10 'show' Commands

Top 10 'show' Commands 
One of the most important abilities a network administrator is the know-how to get information out of his network devices so he can find out what's going on with the network. In most networks, the staple of information gathering has been the "show" commands. Here are the list of  top ten commands you must know
  • show version: Start simple; this command gives uptime, info about your software and hardwuare and a few other details.
  • show ip interface brief: This command is great for showing up/down status of your IP interfaces, as well as what the IP address is of each interface. It's mostly useful for displaying critical info about a lot of interfaces on one easy to read page.
  • show interface: This is the more popular version of the command that shows detailed output of each interface. You'll usually want to specify a single interface or you'll have to hit 'page down' a lot. This command is useful because it shows traffic counters and also detailed info about duplex and other link-specific goodies.
  • show ip interface: This often overlooked command is great for all the configuration options that are set. These include the switching mode, ACLs, header compression, ICMP redirection, accounting, NAT, policy routing, security level, etc. Basically, this command tells you how the interface is behaving.
  • show ip route: This indispensable command shows your routing table, which is usually the primary purpose of the box. Get to know the options on this command.
  • show arp: Can't ping a neighbor? Make sure you're getting an arp entry.
  • show running-config: This is an easy one. It tells you how the box is configured right now. Also, "show startup-config" will tell you how the router will be configured after the next reboot.
  • show port: Similar to the show interface command on routers, this command gives you the status of ports on a switch.
  • show vlan: With the trend toward having lots of VLANs, check this command to make sure your ports are in the VLANs you think they are. Its output is very well designed.
  • show tech-support: This command is great for collecting a lot of info. It basically runs a whole bunch of other show commands, and spits out dozens of pages of detailed output, designed to be sent to technical support. But, it's also useful for other purposes.
Read More...

Troubleshooting IP using ICMP (ping and traceroute)

Troubleshooting IP using ICMP

The Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) is used for a multitude of informational and error messaging purposes.
The two most common troubleshooting tools that utilize ICMP are:
•  Packet Internet Groper (ping) 
•  Traceroute


Packet Internet Groper (ping) 
Ping command is a very common troubleshooting tool, which utilizes the Echo Request and Echo Reply ICMP messages to determine if an IP address is reachable and responding. Ping will additionally provide the round-trip time between the source and destination, usually measured in milliseconds. Ping can also tell us whether there is any packet loss

 

The ping command first sends an echo request packet to an address, then waits for a reply. The ping is successful only if:

  • The echo request gets to the destination
  • The destination is able to get an echo reply back to the source within a predetermined time called a timeout. The default value of this timeout is two seconds on Cisco routers.

Example :

Router#Ping 192.168.10.1

 

The Extended ping Command

When a normal ping command is sent from a router, the source address of the ping is the IP address of the interface that the packet uses to exit the router. If an extended ping command is used, the source IP address can be changed to any IP address on the router. The extended ping is used to perform a more advanced check of host reachability and network connectivity. The extended ping command works only at the privileged EXEC command line. The normal ping works both in the user EXEC mode and the privileged EXEC mode.

Example

Router A>enable
Router A#ping
Protocol [ip]:
Target IP address: 192.168.40.1

!--- The address to ping.

Repeat count [5]:
Datagram size [100]:
Timeout in seconds [2]:
Extended commands [n]: y
Source address or interface: 172.16.23.2

!---Ping packets are sourced from this address.

Type of service [0]:
Set DF bit in IP header? [no]:
Validate reply data? [no]:
Data pattern [0xABCD]:
Loose, Strict, Record, Timestamp, Verbose[none]:
Sweep range of sizes [n]:
Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 162.108.21.8, timeout is 2 seconds:
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 36/97/132 ms 

!--- Ping is successful.


Traceroute command
The traceroute command is used to discover the routes that packets actually take when traveling to their destination. Traceroute will not only identify each router the packet has been forwarded through, but will also measure the delay experienced at each router hop.

Example

Router#traceroute 34.0.0.4

 

The Extended traceroute Command

The extended traceroute command is a variation of the traceroute command. An extended traceroute command can be used to see what path packets take in order to get to a destination. The command can also be used to check routing at the same time. This is helpful for when you troubleshoot routing loops, or for when you determine where packets are getting lost (if a route is missing, or if packets are being blocked by an Access Control List (ACL) or firewall). You can use the extended ping command in order to determine the type of connectivity problem, and then use the extended traceroute command in order to narrow down where the problem occurs.

 

Example

Router A>enable
Router A#traceroute
Protocol [ip]:
Target IP address: 192.168.40.2  

!--- The address to which the path is traced.

Source address: 172.16.23.2
Numeric display [n]:
Timeout in seconds [3]:
Probe count [3]:
Minimum Time to Live [1]:
Maximum Time to Live [30]:
Port Number [33434]:
Loose, Strict, Record, Timestamp, Verbose[none]:
Type escape sequence to abort.
Tracing the route to 192.168.40.2

  1 172.31.20.2 16 msec 16 msec 16 msec
  2 172.20.10.2 28 msec 28 msec 32 msec
  3 192.168.40.2 32 msec 28 msec *  

!--- The traceroute is successful.

Read More...

Email Error : "Server responded 550 must be authenticated" : Solved

Today i come across an error while sending email from outlook 2007.While sending email i got an error message that "Error 550: Server must be authenticated".This can be rectified as follows

Click on "Tools" menu in the Microsoft Outlook.Then choose "Account settings", Double click on the email which you have problem. A new window pops up.At the lower right corner of the window there will be a button labeled "More settings" Click it. Go to the "Outgoing server" tab and put a check in the box labled "My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication" under that you will see 2 buttons, Select the button labled "Use same settings as my incoming mail server", Click "OK" then click "Next" at the next menu, then click "Finish" at the next menu and finally "Ok" at the last menu. Restart Outlook and you should be fine.

Read More...